Growlettes

Before we dig in here, I’m going to address the reason why I’m titling this blog, “Growlettes.” Yes, it’s a feminine name is an industry that prides itself in masculinity. Yes, certain men may lose their ego juice by simply saying the two-syllable word. Yes, it means a smaller receptacle for ordering a quantity of bulk beer. 

But that might just be what the industry needs. 

It's cute and functional. Deal and deal.
It’s cute and functional. Deal and deal.

I’ve had an awesome SS Growler for the past 8 months. I love that thing to death. It keeps my beer fresh forever.

Until I open it. 

Herein lies the problem. I love beer. I love my growler. I love fresh beer. But, those three things don’t always mix.

At the moment, I live alone. Therefore, I drink one average-sized person’s amount of beer. Unfortunately, considering i have a day job, I cannot entertain that amount of delicious nectar. 

Enter the Growlette—a 32-ounce jug of glory for the single, working man or woman. It contains exactly two 16-ounce beers so you can have one over dinner and one after dinner. By the end, you’re not on the floor struggling to pull yourself together in the morning, but rather happily bumbling along through the night with no fear of your beer getting flat while you wait to attack it again the next night. 

As if you need another kicker, they knock nearly half off the price. I know it’s obvious, but consider the advantage: Goodlife’s “Sweet As,” currently on tap at the westside Growler Guys, runs $8.99 for a 64-ounce growler. They knock it down to $4.99 for a Growlette. Go next door to Broken Top Bottle Shop and grab a 12-ounce can of the stuff for $3.25 (nothing against the bottle shop; but they are kind of expensive, to be fair). To fill your Growlette, you would need to put down $8.66. 

Rocked a Hop Valley Stepchild Red today. Totally fresh and tasty. Hop valley's been doing it right lately.
Rocked a Hop Valley Stepchild Red today. Totally fresh and tasty. Hop valley’s been doing it right lately.

All of this to say, there is a reason growler shops are growing in popularity—they are cheap and worth it. I hear the growler movement is heading west to Eugene. Obviously, it is already taking over Portland. 

Like great beer at an equally great price? Don’t want to get wasted for fear of your beer going flat? Pick up one of these bad boys like I did. Absolutely worth it. 

Leave a Reply

