The Cicerone Exam

I feel like today is a big day.

I am currently sitting in my favorite chair, dog at my side, Netflix on the screen. My buddy recommend I watch a movie called Somm about the Master Sommelier exam, the definitive exam to become a wine expert.

If you haven’t seen this already, I highly recommend it: it’s about a group of guys who are attempting to pass this extremely difficult test where, amongst other things, they need to identify six wines down to the specific regions and valleys where the grape came from.

These guys went from wine-loving over-analyzing servers to a member of an elite fraternity.cicerone_logo

Watching this documentary got me thinking. I spoke with Chris Hodge not too long ago, the CEO of Worthy Brewing, where we briefly talked about his cicerone certification and what that meant for him. At the time, I didn’t think too much of it—it seemed like a cool thing to do, and really could help put the line on the resume. But, now that I’ve thought about it, I’ve realized how valuable formal training can be. Right now, I’m working off of Randy Mosher’s book Tasting Beer (which is an excellent resource for those breaking into beer). But, I would like to know more. imgres

The way I see it, if I’m going to be writing about, serving, selling, or brewing beer, I better know exactly what I’m talking about.

So, I’m using this post to let the world know, and keep me accountable, for my journey to become a certified cicerone. Maybe one day, I’ll strive to be a master cicerone (there are currently 7 in the world). But, until then, let’s become a certified beer server first.

Wish me luck on my new journey.

3 comments

  1. Good luck!
    My good friend Randy Scorby recently moved to Bend. He’s a Grand Master BJCP judge. I’m quite sure he’d be willing to sit down and taste a few beers with you if you are looking for pointers. He’s the BJCP Continuing Education Director, has a great palate, and he moved to Bend literally because of the beer.

Leave a Reply

